Home > Uncategorized > So…this is it?

So…this is it?

I think this blog is on break. Potentially permanent, I don’t know. I am proud of what it is and what I’ve done, but I’m not sure I want to maintain it any further. I’m not even sure that I’ll write. I might just get a Tumblr and and take pictures of things and be hip. That’s supposed to be funny because I’m not hip.

I normally look forward to the first of the month. Old rankings are archived, new rankings are posted, fights for the month are updated. I love looking forward to the month ahead, it’s so exciting. It’s a lot of work, but I like it. It’s not the work that’s an issue, it’s not MMA, it’s not even the amount of time it takes. I promise you this is a lot of fucking work, especially when you write 6,000-7,000 word pieces about old UFC or PRIDE events. But that’s not why I’m going to stop.

I really wanted to accomplish something with this space and I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made. I know that if I kept working at this, I could really do some impressive work and put a lot of fun things out into the ether. I’ve enjoyed the fun things I’ve done over the last 11 months, I’ve had fun with the people I’ve gotten to work with and know, I like fucking around on Twitter which people somehow want to read.

This just isn’t important to me anymore. I’ve gotten a lot out of working on this, but I’m just not feeling it anymore. It’s abrupt, I know, but personal circumstances are requiring me to give this up. More specifically, there are things I want out of life more than writing about MMA. That probably sounds ridiculous and I agree. Without going into detail, let me assure you that this is necessary.

Bottom line, I don’t want to keep this site going if I have to compromise the quality so it ends here. I might come back when things settle a bit, I don’t know. Right now I don’t want to. I’ll be around on Twitter still and I might start something new eventually, but I’m just not sure right now. At this point, let’s just call it permanent.

I’m very thankful for the support of readers like Nolan and Kyle, who have always been quick to provide feedback and great comments. I’m glad to have had the opportunity to work with awesome people like KatGirl over at Gals Guide to MMA and Mike Fagan of general MMA greatness. I would have liked to have had the chance to work with others, but so it goes. You might see me around, so who knows. Actually, you probably will see me around – I’ll still be hanging at Gals Guide and Bloody Elbow.

So I might keep this up for a while as a memorial, still not sure how you’re supposed to handle internet breakups. It’s not you, it’s me.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nolan
    December 1, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    I feel like this is the point where I would be screaming “ONE MORE MATCH!” if this was a wrestling show. I really am happy for all the stuff you’ve provided. You’re a hilarious writer and an all around good guy. I still have the posters you sent me on my dresser and really hope to get those framed soon. Whatever route you take, I truly hope the best for you and am glad I’ll still get to talk to you on Twitter and various SB Nation places. I hope all is well and hope that you’ll still provide commentary, wit, and your passion elsewhere. Thanks a lot, Keith. Really do appreciate it.

    • December 1, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      You’re a very sweet boy and a I appreciate the words. I may find time to post stuff on BE or Gals Guide, but I’ll always be around the comments. Maybe I’ll keep up with This Week in Women’s MMA if I have the time. If I ever get the urge, I’ll probably stick to the FanPosts. I’m also starting BJJ training, though I don’t really want to be one of those guys who starts a training diary.

      But you! I’m so excited for you over at Gals Guide! I envy you getting to work with those wonderful ladies (and Midge, who is similarly wonderful but less ladylike). I know you’ll have lots of fun and I’ll always be around to say ridiculous things to you there!

  2. Kyle
    December 1, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    But..but…but..but…the UFC & Pride write ups noooooooooooooooooo. Who else will i depend on for my rich Goin bashing?!??!?!?!

  3. Kyle
    December 1, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    this is the time when i take a breath and think….ok done. NOO DONT LEAVE I STILL HAVENT WON A MINI POSTER!!!! WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

  4. Kyle
    December 1, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    oh i must of misread. you meant you will continue ur ufc/pride reviews on twitter. and rank the fighters there also 0_0. No you aren’t taking this well!

  5. Kyle
    December 1, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    ok its on now. I’m signing up on Tapology just to kick ur ass at fight picks. That’ll teach you making me read more than 1 mma blog.

  6. Nick
    December 2, 2011 at 10:01 am

    noooooooooooooooooooooo i loved this place where else where the jokes about old school ufc events man just do the pride and ufc recaps those were brilliant.
    and train wrestling not bjj (much more physically tiring i can tell you) and thanks for the awesome poster because i can now go into my room and see that arlovski didn’t always get knocked silly but don’t go cos if you do i will keith hackney you in the balls

  7. Cameron
    December 3, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Ah, that’s a shame. Often check in a couple of times a week. Your old show reviews lured me in, but it was everything else that’s kept me visiting in. Good luck in whatever you end up doing, & thanks for some good articles.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

