Home > Fight Results > Bellator 39 Results

Bellator 39 Results

Lightweight Title: (c) Eddie Alvarez d. Pat Curran (Unanimous Decision)

Pat Curran hung in there, but in the end, Eddie Alvarez was far too skilled to lose this fight.  Curran did a great job stuffing Alvarez’s takedowns, but the champion’s boxing was sharp and he was a lot more active than Curran.  Alvarez proved that he’s one of the top lightweights in the world, but Pat Curran deserves kudos for a nice performance.

Welterweight Tournament Semifinals: Rick Hawn d. Lyman Good (Split Decision)

I felt that Good won this fight, but Rick Hawn took a very close split decision.  I couldn’t believe that a judge gave Hawn a 30-27 scorecard, since Good appeared to have won the first and third rounds.  Good looked a lot sharper on the feet and he stuffed a number of Hawn’s throws.  Only in the second round did Hawn control the fight, spending most of the round in Good’s guard.  Either way, Hawn moves on to the finals of the welterweight tournament.

Lightweight Tournament Semifinals: Patricky Freire d. Toby Imada (KO – Round 1, 2:53)

If there were any doubts about Patricky Freire, those should be long gone.  Freire knocked out Toby Imada with a flying knee followed by some devastating punches.  Toby Imada is a tough guy who has had a lot of success in Bellator’s lightweight division and Freire just tore him apart.  Patricky Freire is for real and, should he win in the Lightweight Tournament finals, could pose a real threat to Eddie Alvarez.

Catchweight (175 lbs.): Ben Saunders d. Matt Lee (TKO – Round 3, 1:24)

Ben Saunders absolutely punished Matt Lee with knees in the clinch and big elbows and punches.  Lee never seemed to be in this fight and was beaten until the fight was stopped by the cageside doctor in the third round.  Saunders looked very dangerous and I think Lyman Good or Dan Hornbuckle would be great opponents.

Lightweight: Dave Jansen d. Scott McAfee (Submission – Round 1, 4:58)

Middleweight: Dan Cramer d. Greg Rebello (Unanimous Decision)

Lightweight: Ryan Nazare d. Luiz Azeredo (TKO – Round 1, 5:00)

Welterweight: Ryan Quinn d. Mike Winters (Unanimous Decision)

Bantamweight: John McLaughlin d. Blair Tugman (Unanimous Decision)

Categories: Fight Results
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: