Home > MMA News > MMA News – September 7, 2011

MMA News – September 7, 2011

Okay, so I don’t do the daily news anymore but I figured today would be a really fantastic day to do it.  I’m not going to go with the simple bullet and amusing comment format, but I’ll expound a bit on each topic.

BROCK!!  OVEREEM!!  MEGA BATTLE SMASH!!!!  This fight is going to be awesome.  Awesome.  Simply awesome.  I can’t wait to see these two massive individuals fight until one man is declared the winner and the other is sucked into the cosmos and turned into a planet.  Seriously, can you wait for this fight?

I’m going to be rooting for Brock here and it would be amazing if he pulled off the win, but I don’t know that he’ll be able to handle Overeem’s world class kickboxing.  I especially don’t know if he can avoid that for all of 25 minutes.  A win here by Lesnar and I think the online MMA community might collapse in on itself.  I would love that and I would be right there to watch the implosion in full force.

In other news, Nick Diaz is a total fuck up!  More specifically, he no-showed a couple of big time media appearances in Las Vegas for UFC 137 and has been pulled from the main event.  Carlos Condit will step in for the title shot against Georges St-Pierre while it looks like B.J. Penn will be left in a rematch with Jon Fitch.

First, I hate Nick Diaz.  I wasn’t a big fan of his until his wins over Noons, Cyborg, and Daley.  I took on the charge for Diaz after the Daley victory as I was very impressed with his performance.  Now he goes and shits on all of that by doing this.  Dana White is disappointed, it seems.  Not so much pissed off, though he’s always pissed off – he just seems to be disappointed since he likes Diaz.  Cesar Gracie seems more mad about this, saying that Nick Diaz has let a lot of people down.  Regardless of the circumstances, I say fuck Nick Diaz.

As for the new fight, Condit vs. GSP is pretty interesting.  I can see Condit pulling off a shocking TKO victory over St-Pierre, but St-Pierre has to be the favorite in almost any fight he takes.  I think this will be a very exciting contest as Condit will refuse to quit and should put on a great show with the lights on bright.  I’ll be sure to make a pick closer to the day of the event.

UFC 140 is shaping up, but notable amongst the new fights is a rematch between Frank Mir and Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira.  After his victory over Brendan Schaub, I will be a Minotauro fan for life, but it especially helps that he’s fighting Frank Mir here.  I’m not at all a Frank Mir fan and hope he gets knocked out badly.

We also have a clearer picture for the Heavyweight Title picture beyond Cain Velsaquez vs. Junior dos Santos.  The winner of that fight should take on the winner of Lesnar vs. Overeem.  From there, the winner of Nogueira vs. Mir could possibly get the loser of Velasquez vs. dos Santos for a title shot.  I don’t think we would see a Nogueira vs. dos Santos fight, so Shane Carwin is hanging around somewhere should he need to be inserted into a fight.  Also, Roy Nelson is fat.

Another interesting fight this fall is going to take place in Russia between Fedor Emelianenko and Jeff Monson.  I think there were a few good options for Fedor, including Gabriel Gonzaga and Pedro Rizzo, but I like the choice for Monson.  He’s a proven guy, but not too big of a challenge to stretch Fedor’s losing streak to four.

Oh, except I’m going to pick Jeff Monson.  As in the University of Illinois’ own Jeff Monson.  A win for Monson means reentry into the top 25, even if we’re talking about a guy who lost to Daniel Cormier.  Eventually, I hope that we see a Fedor vs. Chad Griggs fight where the “Grave Digger” solidifies his legend once and for all by defeating the “Last Emperor.”

In site news, I just got a brand new TV and PS3 in my room.  That has been eating up my time over the last few days, but I’m still working.  Be sure to follow me on Twitter, where I still provide regular updates on MMA and my Fight Night experiences.  I also type nice things to pretty fighters in the hopes that they will track me down for a date.  By the way, does anybody know if K.J. Noons is on Twitter?  What, those things aren’t related.  SHUT UP.

But some good news is this week, I should have a lot of new stuff up on the blog.  Bellator and Strikeforce previews are likely, while a PRIDE 3 write-up is in the works.  This is a shorter event and I’ve made quite a bit of progress thus far, so I’ll maybe be able to get this posted tomorrow.  So long as I can avoid being sucked into my PS3, I think I’ll be able to get all of this done.  Keep your fingers crossed!

Categories: MMA News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

