Home > General Lunacy > Best News Ever

Best News Ever

September 12, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

You know, I’m extremely proud with how this blog has come along so far.  I’ve written some fun pieces, made some good connections, and have really had a great time immersing myself in the world of MMA.  I have more than 21,000 views since January 2011 and am gradually amassing followers on the Fight Rankings Twitter page.  But this?  Perhaps the best news in the history of Fight Rankings.

I don’t care that he follows more people than he has followers and I don’t care that he hasn’t won a fight since 2007.  “Big Daddy” Gary Goodridge is now following me on Twitter.  Going through the early PRIDE and UFC events, there’s really no other fighter like Gary Goodridge.  Goodridge was an explosive striker with a bad attitude and tremendous arm wrestling skills.  And now the man is following me on Twitter.

There are certain pivotal moments in your life that you use to measure time.  You remember life before and after 9/11, the Kennedy Assassination, or more personal milestones like marriage or birthdays.  For me, I will always look back at life before Gary Goodridge followed me on Twitter as a good time that was missing a certain something.  Life with Gary Goodridge as a Twitter follower is a time full of promise and hope, of infinite possibility.

I just wait for the day that Harold Howard gets out of jail, learns to use a computer, catches up to the social networking craze, and follows me.  I think I might throw a fucking party.

Categories: General Lunacy
  1. Kyle
    September 13, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Goodridge was probs my fav personality in the early MMA years. Over Tank Abbott. still not sure how he beat Taktarov.

    • September 13, 2011 at 4:10 pm

      He found Taktarov’s one weakness: getting punched very hard.

  2. Kyle
    September 13, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    He must of seen it in his fight with Tank Abbott. No clue why Taktarov thought Goodridge was a good fighter to test his stand up abilities against.

  3. kyle
    September 17, 2011 at 12:13 am

    it is tragic about his brain damage though =/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

