Home > Event Preview > UFC 136 Preview

UFC 136 Preview

This is a huge UFC event tonight and it will probably be one of the best of 2011.  Two title fights, big name fighters, and huge talents capable of putting on thrilling fights. This card looks absolutely fantastic top to bottom and I really want to see every one of these fights, except for maybe Mike Massenzio vs. Steve Cantwell.

That aside, we’ll see huge fights between Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard along with Jose Aldo and Kenny Florian.  After a rough 14 months, Chael Sonnen will fight rising star Brian Stann.  Exciting lightweight Melvin Guillard will face the challenge of submission artist Joe Lauzon, while Nam Phan looks to avenge a bogus decision loss against Leonard Garcia.

The preliminary card on this bout is also pretty great: Maia vs. Santiago, Pettis vs. Stephens, and Beltran vs. newcomer Stipe Miocic should all be interesting bouts.  UFC 136 is the kickoff for the UFC’s awesome fall schedule, so be prepared for lots of fantastic MMA over the next few months.

UFC 136 will air live on pay-per-view at 9:00 PM EST/8:00 PM CST, with two prelims airing on Spike TV at 8:00 PM EST/7:00 PM CST.  The remaining prelims will air live on Facebook at 6:00 PM EST/5:00 PM CST.

Lightweight Title: (c) Frankie Edgar (13-1-1, No. 1 LW) vs. Gray Maynard (10-0-1, 1 NC, No. 2 LW)

Featherweight Title: (c) Jose Aldo (19-1, No. 1 FEW) vs. Kenny Florian (14-5, No. 3 FEW)

Middleweight: Chael Sonnen (25-11-1, No. 2 MW) vs. Brian Stann (11-3, No. 9 MW)

Lightweight: Melvin Guillard (28-8-2, 1 NC, No. 9 LW) vs. Joe Lauzon (20-6)

Featherweight: Nam Phan (16-9) vs. Leonard Garcia (15-7-1)

Middleweight: Demian Maia (14-3, No. 14 MW) vs. Jorge Santiago (23-9, No. 13 MW)

Lightweight: Anthony Pettis (13-2, No. 10 LW) vs. Jeremy Stephens (20-6)

Heavyweight: Joey Beltran (13-5) vs. Stipe Miocic (6-0)

Middleweight: Aaron Simpson (9-2) vs. Eric Schafer (12-5-2)

Middleweight: Steve Cantwell (7-4) vs. Mike Massenzio (12-5)

Featherweight: Zhang Tie Quan (13-1) vs. Darren Elkins (12-2)

Advertisements
Categories: Event Preview
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: