Home > Daily Lists > My Favorite Fighters

My Favorite Fighters

Per the request of reader Kyle, I’ll be listing my favorite fighters.

Do I really need to say more than that?  Does this post need to be prefaced in any other way?  Here are my favorite fighters.  The five fighters who I like the most in MMA.

George Sotiropoulos – I really love George Sotiropoulos’ style.  I have a real appreciation for grapplers as you may have noticed during my write-ups of Sakuraba’s fights.  Sotiropoulos’ submission skills are fantastic and he put on some really great fights with Joe Lauzon and Joe Stevenson.  He may have lost two straight to Rafael dos Anjos and Dennis Siver, but I still feel like he has a lot of upside at lightweight so long as he can fix his striking and wrestling issues.  Sotiropoulos will likely be in action in early 2012 and I’m anxious to see who he’ll be fighting next.

Brock Lesnar – I’ve been a fan of Lesnar back to his WWE days and I’m still a huge supporter of his.  I really enjoyed all of his “heel” antics during his earlier UFC days since he played the bad guy so well.  He sold a fight like no other fighter and won the UFC Heavyweight Title remarkably early in his career.  He followed that up with wins over Frank Mir and Shane Carwin, cementing his status as a top heavyweight until a loss to Cain Velasquez derailed Brock.  I couldn’t be more pumped for his upcoming battle with Alistair Overeem, which is a really tough fight for Brock to take for his return to the octagon.

Frankie Edgar – I’ve always enjoyed Frankie Edgar’s work and thought he was a very fun and talented fighter.  Then 2011 came around and Edgar became one of my heroes.  In two fights with Gray Maynard, Edgar survived vicious first round assaults to continue fighting.  The first contest ended in a draw, but Edgar’s knockout of Maynard in the second fight was absolutely stunning.  Edgar proved he’s one of the absolute toughest fighters in the entire world and his fights are can’t miss.  He should likely fight the winner of Clay Guida vs. Ben Henderson and either opponent would provide a fantastic fight.

Dominick Cruz – Here’s yet another fighter who has completely won me over in the last 12 months.  His longish wait to get into the UFC proved to be worth waiting for.  He went to two five round decisions against Urijah Faber and Demetrious Johnson and successfully defended his UFC Bantamweight Title in both fights.  Cruz has plowed through the top of the bantamweight division and will defend his title next against the winner of Faber vs. Brian Bowles.  I also anticipate Brad Pickett getting a shot sometime fairly soon and I see no way Dominick Cruz loses any of these fights.

Rampage Jackson – Rampage is absolutely hilarious.  A misogynist?  Perhaps.  Politically incorrect?  More than likely.  But he’s still outstandingly funny.  Rampage has done some great things in the UFC, but he truly created his legend during his time in PRIDE.  Rampage was among the most devastating fighters and had legendary battles with Wanderlei Silva, Ricardo Arona, and many more.  His recent loss to Jon Jones may have been disappointing, but it seems like a fight with Shogun Rua in Japan is in the cards.

Categories: Daily Lists
  1. kyle
    October 28, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    i am famous. take that other commenters! haha. good read. big fan of every fighter actually. i try to stay away from favs but you cant help but love & hate some fighters. my fav 5 would be
    1. Rampage
    2. Vitor Belfort
    3. Anderson Silva
    4. Frankie Edgar
    5. Dominick Cruz

  2. Nolan
    October 28, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Not a big Rampage or Brock fan sadly. Never thought much of Rampage in terms of technique and thought he was a one-trick pony. Brock is in the same boat. That, and I am a huge Overeem fan! I just hopped on the Cruz bandwagon after the Faber and Mighty Mouse fights. Edgar is my hero now, too. And G-Sot is an animal and I always look forward to his fights.

  3. kyle
    October 29, 2011 at 12:00 am

    and actually #3 is Phil Davis. forgot about him cuz of his injury i suppose. but i have big hopes for him. also Roy Nelsons beard. not Roy Nelson. but if his beard is in the ring i hope he knocks Cro Cop out with it. Don Frye has a rival for my fav MMA facial hair.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

